people

Nina Amelung
Communication and Society Research Centre (CECS), 
University of Minho, Portugal
Nina.amelung@ics.uminho.pt
Projects/activities:
EXCHANGE
Affected (non)publics: Social and political implications of transnational biometric databases in migration and crime control (AFFECT)
Jacopo Anderlini
University of Genoa
jacopo.anderlini@edu.unige.it
Projects/activities:
Borderlands
Netsereab Andom
CEDEJ-Khartoum
netsereab.andom@gmail.com
Willian Fernandes Araujo
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
University of Santa Cruz do Sul (UNISC)
willianfaraujo@gmail.com
Mona Aviat
ULB
mona.aviat@ulb.be
Projects/activities:
PhD Thesis: Frontex and the use of new technological practices for broder control practices 
Inken Bartels
Institute for Migration Research and Intercultural Studies 
University of Osnabrück
inken.bartels@uni-osnabrueck.de
Projects/activities:
What counts? The statistical production of knowledge on migration in West Africa
Clemens Binder
University of Vienna / Austrian Institute for International Affairs
clemens.binder@oiip.ac.at
Projects/activities:
The Politics of Research and Development in Border Security
Annett Bochmann
University of Siegen
annettbochmann@gmx.de
bochmann@soziologie.uni-siegen.de
Projects/activities:
Border Infrastructure and Materiality, Mobilisation and Immobilisation in Interaction
Lisa Marie Borrelli
HES-SO Valais-Wallis
borrelli.lisam@gmail.com, lisa.borrelli@hevs.ch
Projects/activities:
nccr – on the move
Inês Cisneiros
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of NOVA University of Lisbon (FCSH-UNL)
School of Law of the University of Lisbon
ines.cisneiros@gmail.com
Projects/activities:
Present Democracy for Future Generations
Margaret Cheesman
Oxford Internet Institute
University of Oxford
margaret.cheesman@oii.ox.ac.uk
Mara Clemente
CIES-Iscte
clementemara@gmail.com
Projects/activities:
The articulation of anti-trafficking regimes in Mediterranean Europe. Actors, discourses and representations
Arely Cruz-Santiago
Sociology, Philosophy and Anthropology Department
University of Exeter
a.cruz-santiago@exeter.ac.uk
Projects/activities:
The (in)visibility of the border
Nina Dewi Toft Djanegara
Department of Anthropology
Stanford University
ninadewi@stanford.edu
Projects/activities:
"Taken at Face Value: Facial Recognition Technology and the Cultural Politics of Identity"
Paola Diaz-Lize
IC Migrations
CEMS-EHESS-France, COES-Chile
paola.diaz@ehess.fr
Projects/activities:
Border Assemblages in Sonora Desert
Devices of factualization of death and disappearance at the borders (Mexico-US/ Europe) 
Magdalena Donea
University of Carlifornia San Diego
mdonea@ucsd.edu
Abdullah Elbi
KU Leuven
abdullah.elbi@kuleuven.be
Projects/activities:
Horizon2020 iMars Project
Susana Ferreira
Universidad Nebrija
ssousa@nebrija.es
a.cruz-santiago@exeter.ac.uk
Projects/activities:
Data Justice in Mexico’s Multiveillant Society
Vasilis Galis 
Technologies in Practice research group 
IT University of Copenhagen
vgal@itu.dk
Projects/actvities:
DIGINAUTS
Center for Digital Welfare
Cristiano Gianolla
Centre for Social Studies 
University of Coimbra
cgianolla@ces.uc.pt
Projects/actvities:
ECHOES
Gaia Giuliani
Centro de Estudos Sociais
University of Coimbra
gaiagiuliani@ces.uc.pt
Projects/actvities:
(De)OTHERING - Deconstructing Risk and Otherness (2018-21)
COST Action “Decolonising Development” (2020-24)
DECODEM-(De)Coding Masculinities in Portugal (2018-21)
InteRGRace - Interdisciplinary Research Group on Race and Racisms
Il Razzismo è una brutta storia
Georgios Glouftsios
School of International Studies
University of Trento
georgios.glouftsios@unitn.it
https://georgiosglouftsios.weebly.com/
Monamie Bhadra Haines
Technical University of Denmark (DTU)
monamie.bhadra@gmail.com
Projects/activities:
Singapore’s Surveillance Experiments on Low-Wage Migrant Worker Dormitories
Internal Energy Borderlands: Migrant Energy Cultures and the Smart Grid in Denmark
Sylvana Jahre
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Freie Universität Berlin
sylvana.jahre@hu-berlin.de
Projects/activities:
PhD Project on epistemic practices in urban migration policy
Ivan Josipovic
University of Vienna, Austrian Academy of Sciences
ivan.josipovic@univie.ac.at
Projects/actvities:
The Politics of Digital Infrastructures for Immigrant Identification and Representation in the EU
BordEUr - Jean Monnet ‘New European Borderlands’ Network
Asli Kandemir
University of Southern California
lyamuya@usc.edu
Projects/activities:
Making up the Predictable Border
Huzeyfe Kıran
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
huzeyfekiran@yahoo.com
Projects/activities:
Brothers in Exile: The Lives of Gülen Movement Affiliates in Athens
Aino Korvensyrjä
University of Helsinki
aino.korvensyrja@helsinki.fi
Projects/activities:
Deportation Suspended: Economies of Il/legality and State Violence in the German Asylum System; Culture of Deportation
Jasper van der Kist
University of Machester
jasper.vanderkist@manchester.ac.uk
Projects/actvities:
Knowing Asylum Seekers: The chain of country of origin information
Laura Lambert
Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology
lambert@eth.mpg.de
Projects/actvities:
(Re)Doing Asylum in Externalization Policies: The Case of Niger
Rommain Lanneau
Bucerius Ph.D. Fellow “Beyond Borders
romain.tom.lanneau@gmail.com
Matthias Leese
Department of Humanities, Political and Social Sciences
ETH Zurich
mleese@ethzch
Projects/activities: CURATE
Martin Lemberg-Pedersen
Global Refugee Studies
Aalborg University
lemberg@dps.aau.dk
Projects/activities:
The Marketization of Displacement, Advancing Alternative Migration Governance
Advancing Alternative Migration Governance
Koen Leurs
Chair Diaspora, Migration and the Media section, ECREA
Netherlands Institute of Advanced Studies
Utrecht University
K.H.A.Leurs@uu.nl
Projects/activities:
Digital Migration (bookproject)
Media literacy through Making Media
Romm Lewkowicz
Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology
Utrecht University
lewkowicz@eth.mpg.de
Projects/activities:
Documenting the Undocumented: Experimenting Europe at the Biometric Migrant Archive
Jiaqi M. Liu
University of California, San Diego
jil1202@ucsd.edu
Projects/activities:
State power beyond the state: Digital infrastructures and China’s diaspora governance during the Covid-19 pandemic
Yuwei Lin
University of Roehampton
yuwei.lin@gmail.com
https://pure.roehampton.ac.uk/portal/en/persons/yuwei-lin
Claire Loughnan
University of Melbourne
clairebl@unimelb.edu.au
Projects/actvities:
Comparative Network on the Externalisation of Refugee Policies
Choo Chin Low
History Department, School of Distance Education 
Universiti Sains Malaysia
lowc@usm.my
Projects/activities:
Digitalisation and Fair Migration
Alphonica Lyamuya
University of Southern California
lyamuya@usc.edu
Projects/activities:
Making up the Predictable Border
Bruno Oliveira Martins
Peace Research Institute Oslo
brumar@prio.org
Marcela Ceballos Medina 
Instituto Pensar de la Universidad Javeriana, Colombia
medinamarcelaceballos@gmail.com
Projects/actvities:
Trayectorias Migratorias de sectores empresariales de Venezuela radicados en Bogotá, y sus vínculos al activismo político (1990-2018)
Bruno Meeus
KU Leuven / Utrecht University
bruno.meeus@kuleuven.be
Projects/activities:
H2020 ReRoot Arrival Infrastructures
Ilkin Mehrabov
Lund University, Dept. of Strategic Communication
ilkin.mehrabov@gmail.com
Fredy Mora Gámez
University of Vienna (Austria) / Linköping University (Sweden)
fredy.mora.gamez@univie.ac.at
Projects/activities:
Calculating Migration: A multisited ethnography of algorithmic governance and relocation and redistribution keys
Tracing "alternative" and mobile infrastructures of care
Tatiana Morais Rasilva
Nova School of Law / CEDIS
tatiana.morais.rasilva@gmail.com
Mahgol Motalebi
Bauhaus University Weimar
mahgol.motallebi@gmail.com
Projects/activities:
Immigrant's home in the making through spatial practice
Dimitri Van Den Meerssche 
Edinburgh University / Asser Institute
d.van.den.meerssche@asser.nl
Projects/actvities:
Infra-Legalities: Global Security Infrastructures, Artificial Intelligence and International Law
Fernando Neira Orjuela
Universidad Nacional Autonoma de México
ferneira@unam.mx
Projects/activities:
Border control policies and the use of biometric programs: the case of Chile, Colombia and Mexico
Sabine Netz
Department of Anthropology
University of Bayreuth
sabine.netz@uni-bayreuth.de
Projects/activities:
How Age Makes a Difference: Practices of Classification, Belonging and Political Subjectivity Among Young Refugees in Germany
Emellin de Oliveira
NOVA School of Law
emellin.oliveira@novalaw.unl.pt
Projects/activities:
NOVA Refugee Legal Clinic
Eva Ottavy
La Cimade (nonprofit)/Colibri center for human rights
eva.ottavy@gmail.com
Projects/activities:
Death and disappearance at US Mexico border
Derya Ozkul
University of Oxford
derya.ozkul@qeh.ox.ac.uk
Projects/activities:
Algorithmic Fairness for Asylum Seekers and Migrants
Evie Papada
University of St Andrews
papada.e@gmail.com
Projects/activities:
Digitalisation of policing and urban public space
Annalisa Pelizza
Department of Philosophy and Communication Studies
University of Bologna
University of Twente
annalisa.pelizza2@unibo.it
Projects/activities:
Processing Citizenshiphttps://www.sadrjohnjay.com/new-gallery-4
Ildokó Plájás
Leiden University
i.plajas@fsw.leidenuniv.nl
Projects/activities:
Security Vision: The Security Politics of Computer Vision
Silvan Pollozek
Chair of Sociology of Technology
European New School of Digital Studies (ENS)
European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)
Pollozek@europa-uni.de
Rogier van Reekum
Erasmus University Rotterdam
vanreekum@essb.eur.nl
Projects/activities:
Accounting for migration
Wouter Van Rossem
Science, Technology and Policy Studies
University of Twente
w.r.vanrossem@utwente.nl 
Projects/activities:
Processing Citizenship 
Carolina Sanchez Boe
IMC - Aarhus University; Cerlis-Universitè de Paris Cité
carolina@sagajazz.com
Projects/activities:
Digital Confinement
Philipp Schäfer
Institute for Migration Research and Intercultural Studies (IMIS), University of Osnabrück 
philipp.schaefer@uni-osnabrueck.de
Projects/activities:
The Production of Police Knowledge on Migration
Stephan Scheel
Assistant Professor for Transnational Cooperation and Migration Research
The University of Duisburg-Essen
stephan.scheel@uni-due.de
Projects/activities:
The Politics of (Non)Knowledge in the (Un)Making of Migration
Tim Schütz
Department of Anthropology
University of California Irvine
tschuetz@uci.edu 
Projects/activities:
Disaster STS Network 
Quotidian Anthropocene
Archiving for the Anthropocene
Laura Stielike
Institute for Migration Research and Intercultural Studies (IMIS)
University of Osanbrueck
laura.stielike@uni-osnabrueck.de
Projects/activities:
Big Data, Migration Governance and the Production of Knowledge
Moé Suzuki
University of East Anglia
moe.suzuki@uea.ac.uk
Projects/activities:
VR technology and displacement
Paul Trauttmansdorff
Department of Philosophy and Communication Studies
University of Bologna
p_trauttmansdorff@msn.com
Projects/activities:
Processing Citizenship: Digital registration of migrants as co-production of citizens, territory and Europe
Aristotle Tympas
Department of History and Philosophy of Science
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
tympas@phs.uoa.gr
Projects/actvities:
RISK CHANGE
Maria Ullrich
University of Bonn
University of Siegen
maria.ullrich@uni-bonn.de
Olga Usachova 
PhD student in Social Sciences, Interactions, Communications and Cultural Constructions
Department of Philosophy, Sociology, Education and Applied Psychology (FISPPA)
University of Padua, Italy
olga.usachova@phd.unipd.it
Projects/actvities:
Role and influence of digital technology in social inclusion of forced migrants in host communities
Torsten H. Voigt
RWTH Aachen University
http://www.thvoigt.com
thvoigt@soziologie.rwth-aachen.de
Projects/activities:
Truth verification in immigration 
Technology and airport security
Matthias Wienroth
Centre for Crime and Policing
Northumbria University
matthias.wienroth@northumbria.ac.uk
Projects/activities:
Biometric technologies in security and justice contexts
Valuations and validations for biometric technologies
Lieke M. Wissink
Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research
University of Amsterdam
l.m.wissink@uva.nl
Projects/activities:
Making deportable people / Bureaucratic knowledge practices / Relations of resilience
Astrid Ziebarth
German Marshall Fund of the United States
aziebarth@gmfus.org
Projects/activities:
Migration Strategy Group (focusing on intersection between tech and migration)